Conducted and contested as an invitational pair event, that was sponsored by the London Sunday Times. The inagural competition began in the year 1963. One of the pre-conditions of this sponsored event was that both players forming a pair must be from the same country. However, there were exceptions to this condition of contest.

The field was generally limited to 16 to 22 leading pairs from various countries. The London Sunday Times sponsored the event until the year 1981. The event was then in abeyance from the year 1982 to the year 1989.

The event was revived in the year 1990 and sponsored by the Sunday Times together with Macallan Malt Whisky as the primary sponsors until the year 1999. The Sunday Times ceased sponsorship following the year 1994. Beginning in the year 1995 the event became known as the Macallan Tournament.

Year   Winners   Country
1963   Pierre Jais, Roger Trezel   France
1964   Terence Reese, Boris Schapiro   England
1965   No Contest    
1966   Gerard Destrousseaux, Dr. George Theron   France
1967   Claude Rodrigue, Louis Tarlo   England
1968   Claude Delmouly, Leon Yallouze   France - Egypt
1969   Jean Besse, John D. Collings   Switzerland - England
1970   Nico Gardener, Richar Anthony Priday   England
1971   Lukasz Lebioda, Andrezej Wilkosz   Poland
1972   Stevan Altman, Alan Sontag   United States
1973   No Contest    
1974   Gianfranco Facchini, Sergio Zucchelli   Italy
1975   Alan Sontag, Peter Weichsel   United States
1976   Michael Rosenberg, Barnet Shenkin   Scotland
1977   Jean-Michel Boulenger, Henri Szwarc   France
1978   Sven-Olov Flodqvist, Per Olof Sundelin   Sweden
1979   Pedro Paulo Assumpcao, Gabriel Chagas   Brazil
1980   Victor Goldberg, Bernet Shenkin   Scotland
1981   Sven-Olov Flodqvist, Per Olof Sunderlin   Sweden

Note: The event sponsored by The Sunday Times of London,
England, ceased following the year 1981. The competition
was in abeyance during these years.

Note: The event was revived in the year 1990. The new sponsors
were Macallan Malt Whisky and the Sunday Times. The event
became known as the Macallan Tournament.
1990   Tony Forrester, Andrew Robson   England
1991   Paul Chemla, Michel Perron   France
1992   Gabriel Chagas, Marcelo Branco   Brazil
1993   Robert Levin, Gaylor Kasle   United States
1994   Adam Zmudzinski, Cezary Balicki   Poland
Note: Following the competition in the year 1994 the Sunday Times of
London, England, ceased its sponsorship, and Macallan Malt Whisky
became the sole sponsor of the tournament.
1995   Jeff Meckstroth, Eric Rodwell    
1996   Jeff Meckstroth, Eric Rodwell    
1997   Lorenzo Lauria, Alfredo Helness    
1998   Gier Helgemo, Tor Helness    
1999   Gier Helgemo, Tor Helness    
The tournament ceased to be contested following the year 1999 owing to the
lack of sponsorship.


Email Conventions Bridge Sites
Home Page I Winners Home Page II